Recognizing conservation excellence

The nomination period for the 2017 Annuals Awards is now open. Please review the Nominations & Criteria section for more information.


Each year, the Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies honors individuals and organizations for their exemplary commitment to conservation stewardship through its prestigious Annual Awards program.
Seth Gordon Award, the Association's highest honor, is conferred on Administrators who have worked steadfastly and effectively for the best use of North American natural resources in the public trust and for contributions to the programs of the Association.

The John L. Morris Award recognizes lifetime commitment to fish and wildlife stewardship by citizen conservationists who have exhibited exemplary leadership at the highest level and demonstrated a steadfast commitment to large scale natural resouce challenges. 

The Ernest Thompson Seton Award is given to the state, provincial, or federal agency which has best promoted a public awareness of the need to support the science and practice of wildlife management. A companion award is also presented to the individual deemed by the agency as the one most responsible for its successful and award-winning program.

The Boone and Crockett Award is sponsored by the Boone and Crockett Club and awarded to a state, territorial or provincial agency for outstanding achievement in promoting and encouraging outdoor ethics. A companion award is given to the individual who has been the prime mover in the recognized program.

The Mark Reeff Award recognizes a distinguished young professional under the age of 35 for outstanding service in the conservation of fish and wildlife resources.

The Private Lands Fish and Wildlife Stewardship Award honors an individual- or family-run farm, ranch or forest operation that has incorporated proactive conservation and environmental protective measures.

The Conservation Law Enforcement Award recognizes exceptional achievement in fish and wildlife resource enforcement management.* 

Special Recognition Awards and Honorary Life Memberships are given to individuals who have a distinguished record of accomplishment.

The Association pays tribute to wildlife professionals, Fallen Heroes, who have lost their lives while carrying out their duties to enforce conservation laws and regulations and manage fish and wildlife resources within the past year.

The nomination period for the 2017 Annual Awards now open.  Please visit the Nominations & Criteria section for more information. 

The Awards will be presented at the Association's 106th Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, PA.


Owl photo by Jesse Lee Varnado, Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife & Parks



Dan Forester (right) received the 2016 Seth Gordon Award for Lifetime Achievement in Conservation from AFWA 2015-2016 President Dave Chanda (left).

AFWA Staff Contact
Patricia Allen at 202/838-3474

The nomination period for AFWA's 2016 Annual Awards is CLOSED.

How to make a nomination


Previous award winners

View photos from the 2014 Awards Banquet


Annual Meeting/ Awards/Nominating


©2017 | Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies

State Agencies' Social Media | Contact Us | Careers | Wildlife & Sport Fish Restoration Trust Funds | Terms + Privacy | Photos | Success Stories